The Somerville Trophy – Travellers Trophy

The Somerville Trophy was first presented in 1959 – donated by Derek Somerville of Staines S.C. Derek was Commodore of Staines S.C. for 25 years as well as being the first chairman of the BMBA.

The trophy is for overall score of those travelling to open meetings through the season. As such, it is known as the Class’s National Travellers Series Trophy and is much sought after.

BMBA Somerville Trophy
BMBA Somerville Trophy

The 4-sided Pyramid shaped hardwood trophy, which features a hand tooled embossed scene of two Moths racing, has past winners on its 3 remaining sides. Qualification for the trophy has changed over the years, at one time all designated opens were deemed necessary for qualification with 99 points awarded for non attendance. These days helms can miss a few opens and still qualify.

In the 80’s and 90’s Godfrey Clark won the Trophy 12 times, but from 2000 onwards nobody has dominated the competition. Since 2000 David Peer (B.A.S.C.) and Tim Davison (Medley S.C.) have each claimed two victories ; Roger Witts (Frampton-on-Severn S.C.) has chalked up a total of 3 wins.

In 2012 the Somerville Trophy increased in significance as this is the Class’s 80th Anniversary year and was won by Rob Wilder from Tamesis Club.



IMAG0362 Vintage Trophy

In 2014 an additional Trophy was added to the Somerville – The Vintage Trophy.  This was introduced to encourage older boats to take part in the Travellers series.  It was initially for boats numbered upto 750.  It wasn’t until the 2016 series that any boat competed enough races to qualify.  The  first winner was Jenny Bentley in BM700.

The 2017 series sees the boat number increase to no 799.


Somerville Trophy Winners

Year Winner Club
1959 R.S.Smith Staines SC
1960 C.R.Edwards Staines SC
1961 R.C.Creeves Medway SC
1962 R.C.Creeves Medway SC
1963 R.C.Creeves Medway SC
1964 T.F. Cooper Broxbourne SC
1965 T.F. Cooper Broxbourne SC
1966 W.F.V. King Broxbourne SC
1967 M.G. Abbott Warwick SC
1968 S.R. Cooper Broxbourne SC
1969 T.F. Cooper Broxbourne SC
1970 M.D. Metcalf Cam SC
1971 M.D. Metcalf Cam SC
1972 C. Bone British Motor YC
1973 M.D. Metcalf Cam SC
1974 M.D. Metcalf Cam SC
1975 C.D. Hill Bristol Avon SC
1976 S. Hutchinson Broxbourne SC
1977 G.L. Holland Broxbourne SC
1978 G.L. Holland Broxbourne SC
1979 F.Monk Broxbourne SC
1980 G. Clark Broxbourne SC
1981 G. Clark Broxbourne SC
1982 G. Clark Broxbourne SC
1983 G. Clark Broxbourne SC
1984 D. Mathews Warwick SC
1985 J. Shipp Broxbourne SC
1986 G. Clark Broxbourne SC
1987 M. Fowler Hunts SC
1988 T. Cooper Jnr Broxbourne SC
1989 T. Cooper Jnr Broxbourne SC
1990 M. Fowler Hunts SC
1991 G. Clark Broxbourne SC
1992 T. Cooper Broxbourne SC
1993 G. Clark Broxbourne SC
1994 G. Clark Broxbourne SC
1995 G. Clark Broxbourne SC
1996 G. Clark Broxbourne SC
1997 G. Clark Broxbourne SC
1998 G. Clark Broxbourne SC
1999 Sandy Gass Bristol Avon SC
2000 David Peers Bristol Avon SC
2001 David Peers Bristol Avon SC
2002 David Eales Evesham
2003 G. Pope Severn SC
2004 Coln Hall Hunts SC
2005 Tim Davison Medley SC
2006 Tim Davison Medley SC
2007 Rob Wilder Tamesis
2008 Roger Witts FoSSC
2009 Gary Tompkins SESCA
2010 Roger Witts FoSSC
2011 Roger Witts FoSSC
2012 Rob Wilder Tamesis
2013 T. Cooper Broxbourne SC
2014 T. Cooper Broxbourne SC
2015 T. Cooper Broxbourne SC
2016 T. Cooper Broxbourne SC
 2017  Tim Davison  Medley SC

Vintage Trophy

2016 – Jenny Bentley – Maidenhead SC

2017 – Elaine Gilligham – Hunts SC


Silver Fleet Trophy 

-Donated by John Burford

2017 –  Simon Hall – Maidenhead SC